Entries are invited in six categories: 

1) Residential – Individual Houses

2) Residential – Multiple Houses

3) Commercial

4) Institutional

5) Urban
The Urban category includes large projects such as townships or neighbourhoods where the network of space or other urban elements are critical to the functioning of the development. In addition to masterplans, this category can apply to infrastructural developments such as parks, roads, transit systems, etc. 

6) Socially-Inclusive
A Socially-Inclusive development is one with a strong social agenda, issues such as social equity, community ties, livelihood, stakeholder involvement through participatory design, etc.

In the case of mixed-use developments (where, for instance, the programme is a mix of commercial and residential), the category selected should reflect whichever is the dominant programme, measured as percentage of total floor area.